jump to navigation

NAMI Provider Training February 5, 2006

Posted by danucube in Mental Health, Nursing, Prenursing, Volunteer.
trackback

Just came back from a 4 day NAMI Provider Training. Learned a LOT. I think it will affect me positively if I go into psych nursing somedays. Even if I don't go into psych nursing, I think it will be beneficial as a nurse.

Some of the things I learned that is sticking in my minds right now are:

  • Teach by modeling.
  • See if you can change "heart" instead of changing "minds"
  • The importance of the patient's family. The importance of working collabaratively with the patient and his/her family.
  • The importance of dependency->independency->interdependency. Notice the final stage is NOT independency but interdependency.
  • Teach by stories, especially personal stories.

There were many more points, it will take me a while to absorb them all. Also I was happy to meet a few nurses in the class also and I got to pick their brains.

I had a great time as consumers, family members, and providers all learn to work together in this class as a team, to share together our burdens, to share our common goals together. It was a great enviorment as there were no "us" or "them" as we learn to teach together and eat together and share our stories with each other.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

