jump to navigation

Nursing Lottery November 8, 2005

Posted by danucube in Prenursing.
trackback

Well, I did not get pick in the nursing lottery at my community college this morning.  There were probably around 200 people in the lottery.  They only drew out 17 people.  Then they drew 10 more as alternates (in case people drop).  Some people have 4 or 5 tickets (that means they been at the lottery like 4 or 5 times already; almost 2 years).  One woman waited close to two years and this time, she was picked 3 times (she got lots of tickets in the lotttery)!   Another lady who has absolutely the worst luck (she got the record of waiting the longest) finally got picked and there was a loud cheer from everyone in the room.

Went down to my local state university afterward for nursing consultation with an advisor.  Found out there are only 20 openings left in the program I am interested in.  The student ahead of me went in and I overheard the advisor first question to her was “Do you have a 4.0 or close to it?”  .  From talking to the advisor, my implicit understanding is that if I get straight As in this quarter, I would have a good  fighting chance for the 20 openings (this does not take into account the interview with different hospitals so one of them can sponsor me).  I am not sure about the all As this quarter as I am struggling with O-chem.  I am having some problems with all the 3-dimensional stuff.  The models sets helps.  Right now, just hanging on and try to get at least a B.

Then I went to general advising and to my relief, I do not have to meet the American Institution requirements because I already met it way back when.  This will make my class schedule more reasonable. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

